My Disney themed wedding

Luke & I have been huge Disney fans for some time now. We have both been to Walt Disney World many years ago with family and like most people have grown up with many Disney influences, but it wasn’t until our son was born in 2010 that we fully immersed ourselves in the Disney obsession. Disney have brought our family together in so many ways, whether it be sitting together and watching a movie or taking our son on his first family trip to WDW when he was just 4.5 months old. I’m so thankful to the company/franchise for the happiness they’ve brought to our family and in January 2012 when we started planning our wedding, an event that celebrates the union of two families, having it Disney themed was the only logical thought for us. After spending some time online looking at Disney theme wedding ideas we decided early on we wanted a pretty subtle theme. I’m not a huge Disney Princess girl (apart from Rapunzel <3) so we decided a Mickey/Minnie theme would be more appropriate for us, and along the way we ended up throwing in hints of Tangled (my favourite movie) and The Nightmare Before Christmas (Luke’s favourite movie).

183

Our wedding cake. My friend at Always Anchors made a small Pascal figure to look like he’s licking the cake.

opposite the bar

This was the set up as you entered our reception with the table plan, post box, autograph book and fingerprint tree.

181

Our gorgeous marquee reception.

182

Table plan. Originally we planned to use Disney quotes, but we trialled a couple and realised it was way too much text so went with the silhouettes instead, which I think gave it a real classy look.

118

My husbands Jack Skellington boutonniere.

fingerprint tree

We knew we wanted a keepsake from the day & after seeing a version on Etsy I fell in love with the Up version of a fingerprint tree. This was a huge hit with my guests.

aisle runner2

Our aisle runner. This was something I really wanted but couldn’t justify the price so I made it myself! It’s one of my favourite things from the day.

post box

Our post box for wedding cards and small gifts.

004

Since July I spent several hours painfully punching out Mickey shaped confetti. As time was running out Luke took charge and ordered the bigger size heads from eBay which I was thankful for in the end because I’m not even sure you can see my Mickey heads on the confetti shot. This is another of my favourite things from the day, I love the small touches.

favors

Adult favours, personalised tea light candles with Minnie & Mickey kissing.

180

Place cards.

garter

Obviously this was for Luke’s eyes only (& my bridesmaid who had to put it on!).My The Nightmare Before Christmas themed garter.

178

Kids favours, small bottles of pixie dust.

horseshoe

Lucky horseshoe.

126

My shoes were decoupaged with vintage Mickey & Minnie photos.

earrings

Part of my bridesmaids gifts. I got the earrings online and made the cards myself.

activity packs

This was a part of the kids favours, activity packs to keep them occupied during the meal & speeches.

pascal

We had a Pascal on each table with the centrepieces.

093

We signed the register with a Mickey head pen, and also used this for guests to sign the autograph book.

197

Of course we had to have the bride and groom ears for some fun pictures.

hair trial

My Rapunzel-inspired bridal hairstyle.

pascal in hair

Lastly, what kind of Rapunzel would I be if I didn’t have Pascal? 🙂

I also had hidden Mickey’s on my veil with gems, our son had the rings in a Pascal bag and we had the Disney Fairytale Weddings CD played at background music during our wedding breakfast.

For the evening I did a Disney-themed photobooth with free printables I found online. It was a big hit with everyone and brought a lot of fun to the night.

photobooth

Minnie ears and Elsa’s crown

IMG_0737

Kat (co author on the blog), myself, Cash (co author on the blog) and Nat, our mutual friend.

The planning has been stressful and along the way we’ve had several comments made about our theme but I think we surprised a lot of people in the end and shown them that Disney is just as much for adults as it is for kids. I’m so happy with how our theme played out and it was perfect for us, I hope you enjoy reading/seeing how Disney touches gave us a truly magical day ❤ 188 CREDITS Pascal figures – https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/alwaysanchors Pascal hair clip – https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/CCKJewellery Up fingerprint tree – https://www.facebook.com/cre8ionz4u Tealight candle favours – https://www.facebook.com/michelestealight Horseshoe – https://www.facebook.com/KellysKitschStitch Activity packs – https://www.facebook.com/DanniStationary Venue – http://www.thistle.com/en/hotels/united_kingdom/haydock/thistle_haydock/index.html Photographer – http://www.racheljoycephotography.co.uk/

Leave a comment